By following the links, you will find detailed informations in french.

The General Assembly

The University of Namur (UNamur) was founded by the Society of Jesus in 1831. It is constituted as a non-profit making organisation. The General Assembly, which includes all the associated members, is the governing body.

It defines the statutes, appoints the directors, approves the budgets and annual accounts, and has direct responsibility in the choice and development of the institution’s objectives. It is assisted by the Board of Trustees, which manages the university in a ‘responsible manner’.

An Academic Council manages aspects directly linked to the six faculties. Similarly, each faculty is structured around a Faculty Council.

Various committees, general and transversal services, ensure that the university operates smoothly. A thousand people - administrative staff, technicians, labourers, scientists, and academics – work towards the same objectives: education, research, and service to society, such as defined by the legislator, and in conformance with the institution’s mission, which is defined in a charter.

The Rector, the Vice-Rector, the General Manager and the Board of Trustees

The Rector, Naji Habra, is responsible for the overall management of the university, academically as well as administratively. He has authority over all members of the university community and can make proposals to the institution’s responsible bodies for any type of initiative that would promote the UNamur’s excellence and influence. He is the president of the Board of Trustees and negotiates, with the public authorities and Rectors from other universities, the implementation of projects approved by the responsible bodies.

The Vice-Rector, Annick Sartenaer, is responsible for matters concerning UNamur's personnel, such as the management staff, appointments and promotions, statutory conditions and training of personnel.

The General Manager, Gabriel Lombet, is responsible for the UNamur’s financial, budgetary, and technical management as well as the management of its fixed and liquid assets.

The Board of Trustees is composed of the Rector, the Vice-Rector, the General Manager, three other managers with specific responsibilities (student affairs, research and informatics policy, international relations and library policy), and other managers representing each part of the university community.

The Board of Trustees exercises its powers in compliance with the direction and objectives defined by the General Assembly. Its responsabilities and composition is defined in the University's statutes.

Notably, the Board of Trustees decides on matters concerning teaching, research, service to the community, on proposals made by the responsible bodies, general assembly, faculty councils, the academic council, the educational council, etc. More concretely, it approves the rules of the different faculties, defines the personnel organisation and recruits staff, prepares and approves the budget and the annual accounts that it submits to the General Assembly.

The Deans and the Academic Council

The Dean is elected for a four-year mandate that can be renewed once. He provides the day-to-day management of the faculty, ensures its smooth operation and that the administrative services function correctly. He represents the faculty and serves as an intermediary between it and the Board of Trustees. He ensures the coordination between education and research as well as the implementation of resolutions taken by the Faculty Council.

List of Deans

The Academic Council is made up of the Deans, the Rector, and the Vice-Rector. It ensures the cooperation and coordination, for academic matters, between the faculties. It supervises the inter-faculty bodies with an educational vocation.

The Research Council

The Research Council is made up of the manager responsible for research, who is the president, the director of the external relations service, who provides the secretariat, the director of the research administration, an academic representative per faculty and three scientific members.

The Research Council has a consultative and advisory role: every year it submits a report to the Board of Trustees about the institution’s research activities as well as a critical analysis of the state of research at UNamur, and proposals for the research strategy to be undertaken.

On its own initiative, or at the request of the Board of Trustees, it provides the latter with opinions about the principal research projects, as well as about any topic related to research.

The General Assembly of Students

The General Assembly of Students has the mission of assembling and defending the University of Namur’s students. Its main functions are to represent the students to the faculty authorities and within the Federation of French-speaking Students, and to organise activities on the campus

The General Assembly of Students organises the principal student festivities: the new school year parties which end with the freshman’s ball, the Saint Nicholas ball and its parade, participation in the 24 hours bicycle race in Louvain-La-Neuve, the failures ball,...

On quite another level, it organises a cultural festival, in collaboration with a social project (kots à projet), in collaboration with various associations (the faculties or others) it sets up “political” conferences,…