In Belgium, in addition to subsidised public schools, there are schools that are financed by the linguistic “community” (communauté) (i.e. French Community/Communauté Française) and then subsidised “free” schools, which traditionally give religious communities the freedom to teach their values. Curricula and certification from all three systems are equally recognised and cover the three  education  levels  (primary, secondary and Higher Education institutes). The compulsory school age in Belgium is 6-18. Belgian education is structured as follows:

Basic education (French-speaking in Namur)

  • Pre-school: for children aged between 3 and 6
  • Primary school: for children aged between 6 and 12
  • Secondary school: for children aged between 12 and 18
  • Higher education (including High Schools and Universities): from age 18 and older.

The list of schools of all levels in Namur and neighbouring communities

"Classe passerelle" (Transition class)

This class is for pupils entering the first cycle of secondary school.

The "Institut Henri Maus de Namur" offers a year of transition allowing non-francophone pupils to reach a level in French that will enable them to follow the curriculum.

Weekly programme:

French: 20 hours

Math: 8 hours

Religion: 2 hours

Sport: 2 hours

Contact: +32-(0)81-25.50.80

The "Institut Technique de Namur (ITN)" also offers this class.

Contact: Mrs Strypstein, +32-(0)81-72.90.38


Mr Jean-Paul LEONIS

Euraxess Contact Point - Researchers Helpdesk

Internal call: 4117

External call: +32 81 72 41 17


Office (on appointment): Rue Godefroid, 5 - door 47